Flying Logic Forum
May 21, 2018, 10:06:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: • Flying Logic 3.0.9 has been released!
Click here to visit the Flying Logic home page.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cup of Tea Tutorial  (Read 16594 times)
xpuserpjc

View Profile
« on: February 07, 2008, 08:19:36 AM »

After subscribing to the VersionTracker Pro service, which checks versions of third-party applications as Software Update does for Apple programs, I saw Flying Logic in the listing. So, I decided to try it out.

Tutorials and examples seem thin for an absolute beginner. If one is familiar with whiteboard, Post-It arrays, etc. it might be more familiar. I did view the video and read the PDFs and decided to try a project.

Example Project

Some of the documentation used the logical steps for getting a cup of tea as illustration. I decided to explore the program using that example. I created entities for several preconditions (teapot, cup, water, heating equipment), actions, one undesirable effect, and the goal of a cup of tea.

If you really want to work the process, one could take it further by coordinating a tea party with invitations, a place to gather and drink tea, parking issues, baby-sitting coordination, etc.

I also notices some curiosities.

Manipulating Entities

I was frustrated that I couldn't simply grab an entity to reposition it on the canvas. (I wanted to avoid crosse lines for better visual scanning right-to-left of the process.)  In attempting a move, an arrow would appear and I would see "Cycles (loops) are not allowed" in the upper right if I managed to return the arrow to the entity before letting go. I tried a couple modifier keys (Cmd, Opt, Sft) with no change in behavior.

Granted, I am a novice at using the program. I didn't see anything in preferences about "snap to grid", etc.

Exporting Diagram